Zoom Recordings

The recording functionality in Zoom allows the Host of a meeting, or anyone attending the meeting to whom the Host grants explicit permission (requested during the meeting), to record the session in full.

To learn about the consent form required to record classes, please see the Guidance for Faculty Interested in Recording Classes.

Session recordings will include:

  • Video and audio of all attendees
  • Shared screen content
  • Chat logs (Group chats as well as direct message texts)

Hosts can set recording to begin automatically when the meeting starts (in advance through meeting settings), or can start recording on an ad hoc basis at any point during the meeting.

When a recording is initiated, all participants in the meeting will be prompted to either consent to be recorded or leave the meeting. This prompt will also come up for anyone joining the meeting at any point while the recording is occurring.

Where does the recording get saved?

The host has the option to save the recordings either locally, to the Host's computer, or to the Zoom cloud. By default, both recording methods are private to the Host until the host elects to share files.

The recording is divided into multiple parts:

  • A video recording of the shared screen with Speaker View
  • An audio-only recording of the meeting
  • A text file of the Chat log
  • An audio transcript (only available when saved via Zoom cloud).

Recordings can be found by logging into emerson.zoom.us and navigating to Recordings in the left hand sidebar. From the Recordings page, one can either navigate to their cloud recordings or see a record of their local recordings, including the name of the computer and file path to where the recording was saved. Cloud recordings will be stored indefinitely, and we have no deletion policy in place at this time. Once a cloud recording is deleted, it will be kept for 30 days (in case the owner changes their mind about deleting it), and can be un-deleted by the recording owner or an administrator at any point in those 30 days.

Sharing Recordings

Cloud recordings can be downloaded by the host, or shared via a link. When the host clicks the Share button next to a cloud recording, they will see options to:

  • Share the video publicly or with authorized Emerson Zoom users only
  • Prevent viewers from downloading
  • Allow others to request access to view the recording via registration
  • Password protect the recording (*Strongly recommended! This setting will be on by default as of May 15, 2020)

Local recordings can be uploaded to any of Emerson's secure cloud storage options  we recommend Panopto for streaming and sharing, and Box for long-term storage and archive purposes.

Who Has Access?

No participant can access the recording without intentional action by the host or permitted recorder, so no one would have access unless they were sent the link directly or the link was made publicly available. Emerson Zoom administrators have view, share, and deletion access to recordings in Zoom Cloud, and can assist with locating and deleting recordings.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a ticket