Emerson IT Help Desk

Syncing Bookmarks on Campus Computers

Syncing your bookmarks is an extremely easy and convenient tool to use when you work on the campus computers frequently and need easy access to a website. The following guide will walk you through the process of syncing your bookmarks so that they appear on any computer you log into Google Chrome on.

 

Importing and Exporting Bookmarks from One Account to Another

Syncing Your Bookmarks on One Account

 

Importing and Exporting Bookmarks

  1.  Open Google Chrome and sign in to the account that you want to take the bookmarks from. 
  2.  Click the Chrome Customize and Control button (the three dots on the top right).
  3. Select Bookmarks > Bookmark Manager from the menu. (You can also right-click anywhere on the Bookmarks bar if it’s visible.)
  4. Click the Organize menu button (the three dots on the top right).
  5. Select Export bookmarks.
  6. Google Chrome will save your bookmarks as an HTML file. Make sure that it saves it to a location on your computer that you can easily find when importing it. 
  7. Sign out of that account.
  8. Sign in to the account you'd like to import the bookmarks into.
  9. Select Bookmarks > Bookmark Manager from the menu. (You can also right-click anywhere on the Bookmarks bar if it’s visible.)
  10. Click the Organize menu button (the three dots on the top right).
  11. Select Import bookmarks.
  12. Chrome will open a window for you to select the bookmarks file. Select the HTML file and hit Open

*Please note that this does not sync bookmarks between multiple accounts. It only takes the bookmarks that were exported and imports them to another account. You will have to manually edit bookmarks between your accounts if you use more than one. 

 

Syncing Bookmarks

  1. Open Google Chrome.
  2. Sign in to the account you'd like to sync your bookmarks to. 
  3. Click the Chrome Customize and Control button (the three dots on the top right).
  4. Select Settings.
  5. Under People select Sync and Google services.
  6. Select Manage sync.
  7. Turn Bookmarks on (you can also turn on any other categories you'd like to sync).
  8. Your bookmarks all now all synced! When you log into Google Chrome on another computer, you will see your bookmarks. 

Please Note: Make sure to log out when you are finished using the computer to protect your information!

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk